>big guns get exit order

>THE nomination papers of many candidates including former lawmakers of the two major electoral alliances were cancelled yesterday, the last day of scrutiny of nomination papers filed for the ninth parliamentary elections. (Full Report)
Returning officers (RO) cancelled nomination papers of BNP leaders Mirza Abbas and his wife Afroza Abbas, Amanullah Aman and his wife Sabera Aman, former deputy minister Abdus Salam Pintu for Tangail-2, ex-lawmakers MA Hashem for Dhaka-11, Hafiz Ibrahim for Bhola-2, Wadud Bhuiyan for Khagrachhari, M Giasuddin for Narayanganj-4, Ataur Rahman Khan Angur for Narayanganj-2 and Shah Mohammad Abul Hossain and Shahabuddin Chowdhury.
The ROs cancelled former AL lawmaker Kazi Zafarullah’s candidacy for Faridpur-1 and his brother Kazi Ekramullah’s candidacy for Faridpur-4, AL’s Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury’s candidacy for Feni-1, Air Vice-marshal (retd) AK Khandaker’s candidacy for Pabna-2, Khorshed Alam Sujon’s candidacy and M Idris Ali’s candidacy for Munshiganj-3, BNP’s reformist leader ZA Khan’s candidacy, JP leaders Engineer Abdul Jabbar and Mujibur Rahman’s candidacies and Krishak Sramik Janata League President Abdul Kader Siddiqui’s candidacy for Tangail-4.
Election Commission (EC) sources said 557 nomination papers were cancelled due to various reasons. Out of 2,456 nomination papers submitted, 1,899 remain valid.
Of the 203 nomination papers filed for 15 constituencies in Dhaka city, 55 had been cancelled, Aziz Khan, divisional commissioner and RO, Dhaka Division, told reporters at his office.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s