>AL candidates rule city polls

>AWAMI League (AL) backed candidates seemed to be striding towards clinching mayoral victory in all four city corporation elections in the early hours of today with Badaruddin Ahmed Kamran already unofficially winning the Sylhet mayoral race, and Shawkat Hossain Hiron winning in Barisal. (Full report)
Meanwhile, AL candidates already came out as victors in eight out of the nine municipalities where elections were held yesterday, while their archrival BNP backed candidates grabbed only one.
Incumbent Mayor of Sylhet City Corporation Badaruddin Ahmed Kamran won the mayoral election there again according to the final unofficial count, beating his rival BNP candidate AFM Kamal by a large margin. He bagged 1,15,446 votes while his rival got 32,097 votes. Kamran is currently in jail accused in several graft cases.
In Barisal, AL candidate Shawkat Hossain Hiron won the mayoral race defeating Progressive Democratic Party’s Sharfuddin Ahmed Santu, getting 46,795 votes while Santu bagged 46,208 votes.
Hiron however earlier accused some intelligence agencies and Rapid Action Battalion of ‘manoeuvring to engineer the election there to elect a certain person of their choice’.
In Khulna City Corporation, AL backed Talukder Abdul Khaleque was leading with 1,18,829 votes in a close fight against BNP supported candidate Moniruzzaman Moni, who managed to get 99,556 votes in 182 centres out of a total of 239.
AHM Khairuzzaman Liton, who is backed by AL in Rajshahi City Corporation, was leading with 85,930 votes against his nearest rival BNP-Jamaat supported Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul who got 67,010 votes in 117 centres out of a total of 129.
The newly elected municipal mayors are Golam Kibria in Fulbaria of Mymensingh, Anisur Rahman in Sreepur of Gazipur, Reazul Islam Joarder in Chuadanga of Chuadanga district, Nayek Shafiul Alam Shafi in Sitakunda of Chittagong, Zakaria Ahmed Pablu in Golapganj of Sylhet, Abdur Rab Munshi in Shariatpur of Shariatpur district, Ramzan Ali in Manikganj of Manikganj district, and Abdul Gafur in Naohata of Rajshahi. All of them were AL affiliated candidates.
Only Jahangir Alam backed by BNP won in Dhupchachiya municipality of Bogra.
Voting in four city corporations and nine municipalities however ended peacefully with satisfactory turnout of voters yesterday, although widespread confusion over voters’ identification numbers had caused a messy start in the morning slowing down the balloting.
Related Reports
CEC sees JS polls under emergency no problem
Observers give clean chit
Last minute drama in Barisal
Confusion over NID
Voters defy rain
Code of conduct violation
Slow voting, high turnout
City polls lack enthusiasm amongvoters: Zillur


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s