réflexions

Home » Politics: Bangladesh » >monk leader arrives in Bangladesh with colleagues

>monk leader arrives in Bangladesh with colleagues

>A young monk who was a leader in the recent Saffron Revolution protests in Burma arrived in Bangladesh along with his colleague on January 22 after travelling in secret for nearly two months, reports Narinjara News.
The two monks — U Htawara, 24, and U Panya Disa, 29 – are from Irrawaddy Division in the delta region of Burma.
“The Burmese military authority wanted to arrest me for leading in the Saffron Revolution so I was hiding in my native
village of Wra Tan Shi in Irrawaddy’s Wakhema Township, but at last I left my village for Bangladesh with my friend, U Panya Disa, to avoid being arrested by the government,” U Htwara said.
In their journey to
Bangladesh, the two monks travelled by foot from one village to another, sometimes sleeping in the jungle, and sometimes removing their easily identified robes to don civilian dress.
(Read Narijanara article)

Leave a Reply

Spectator

I welcome you all to my blog, a place where I share reports, articles and images of events taking place in Bangladesh and elsewhere in the world, which I think may be of interest to others. Please drop a few words if you feel like.
